top of page

The 20th Annual Shock Awards

Updated: Jun 6

On the 16th of May 2024, the University of Salford’s student media network, Shock, celebrated its annual Shock Awards in grand style. The 20th Shock Awards was hosted by the Student Union’s Luca Hughes-Piper, in an event which marked a milestone in the station’s 25-year history. The new committee was announced at the end of the night with Alfie Mulcahy taking over as Network Manager for the 2024/25 academic year. You can see the rest of the committee here.

The awards kicked off with a warm welcome from Luca Hughes-Piper, who set the tone for an evening filled with excitement and recognition of the hard work and talent of Shock's members.

Matt & Issy celebrating with friends after a successful night!

Best Breakfast or Morning Show

The first GOLD award of the night went to Matt and Issy at Breakfast for their outstanding morning show. Leslie McMurtry, the judge for this category, praised the show for its professional technical standards and the chemistry between the host. Friday Breakfast took SILVER and BRONZE went to the Morning Club.

Best Afternoon Show

In the Best Afternoon Show category, And Action with Callum Ewing took home the GOLD. Judge Robert Porter congratulated Callum’s relaxed yet informative style, effective use of sound effects, and games to keep the listeners engaged. The SILVER award went to Just Woke Up with Scarlett Mullender, and the BRONZE to The Feel-Good Show with Jodi Keen.

Best Drivetime Show

The judge for the Best Drivetime Show was Gary Morrisroe who awarded GOLD to the Matt and Francis Show. He highlighted the natural and entertaining bounce between Matt and Francis, their funny and confident presenting style, and their creative use of language. Up For It with Joe and Courtney took SILVER, and Drivetime Distractions with Adelle and Jason secured BRONZE.

Best Evening Show

Paul Duckworth, the judge for Best Evening Show, awarded GOLD to Raveform with Matt McGetterick for his energetic and passionate presenting. Radio-ing with Dan Walters received SILVER, and Chaos with Ciara took BRONZE.

Best Specialist Show

Pub Jukebox with James Young won GOLD for the Best Specialist show as judged by Jimmy Ewing. SILVER went to Is This Speaker Working? And BRONZE to Spin City.

Best DJ

Matt McGettrick was honoured with his second GOLD award of the night for the Best DJ. Kieran Lloyd was the judge for this category as he gave Ben Manley the SILVER award and Ollie Tobin BRONZE.

Best Interview

The Best Interview GOLD award went to Matt and Issy’s interview with Seb Lowe, judged by Andrew Fletcher. Scarlett Mullender’s interview on Just Woke Up received SILVER, while Issy’s Mum on Three’s Company took BRONZE.

News Presenter of the Year

Caroline Cheetham awarded Alfie Mulcahy the GOLD award for the Best News Presenter. Ciara Aston received SILVER and Callum Ewing was given BRONZE.

Members' Choice

It is Shock tradition for the previous winner of the Member’s Choice award to pass it on to the next. Last year the winner was James

Crompton - who was insistent that the tradition continued and ended up awarding the gold to... himself.

Manager’s Choice

The Manager's Choice Award this year was judged by Network Manager Alfie Mulcahy, alonside his Deputy Joe Lander and former Network Manager Adam Clark. Matthew Green, another former manager won the accolade for his devotion to the Society over his three years.

Best Newcomer

As voted by Shock Members, GOLD for Best Newcomer was won by Alex Foreman. Katie Louise-Buxton and Dan Walter took a share of the SILVER award.

Shock TV Production Talent Award

Another award voted by Shock members, was the Shock TV Production Talent, which Emma Nelson received GOLD. David Evans and Alex Foreman took SILVER and BRONZE, respectively.

Duo/Group of the Year

The ultimate Duo/Group of the Year GOLD award was won by Matt and Issy for their third of the night, making them the most successful presenters at the awards. Joe and Courtney picked up SILVER while Darci and Dan took BRONZE.

Presenter of the Year

Alfie Mulcahy took home another GOLD award for Presenter of the Year judged by Gary Morrisroe. Matt Hallsworth was awarded yet another award, this time SILVER, and Scarlett Mullender took BRONZE.

Shock Moment of the Year

Again, this award was voted by Shock members. There has been plenty of memorable moments of the year with Winter Wonderland and winning at the SRAs and NASTAs. The GOLD for this award went to Shock is Back - Saltburn Style. Varsity 2024 took SILVER and The Comedy Campsite Raising over £1000 took BRONZE.

The 20th Shock Awards was a night to remember, celebrating the incredible talent and dedication of the University of Salford’s student media society. Congratulations to all the winners and nominees, and a massive thank you to all the judges.

Photography on the night was by David Evans and a full gallery can be found here.


bottom of page